Extremely Haywire (Weekly Links)

Gina Carano, Haywire

Links to reviews I wrote for the Herald this week, and etc.

Haywire. “She sprints through alleyways like the ground is on fire.”

Red Tails. “Operates at a TV-movie level.”

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close. “It’s the contrived premise itself that makes the movie falter.”

On KUOW’s “Weekday,” I talk with Steve Scher about snow movies. Did the show remote, over the phone. We talk about the weather, too. Did I mention it snowed this week in Seattle? The show is here; the movie stuff begins around the 21:20 mark.

At What a Feeling!, the Eighties lookbacks include reviews of Ridley Scott’s Legend and Robert Zemeckis’s Who Framed Roger Rabbit.

See you Saturday afternoon at the Kirkland Library, where I will deliver “Alien Encounters: Sci-Fi Movies and the Cold War Culture of the 1950s,” a talk in the Humanities Washington Speakers Bureau program, at 2 p.m. It’s free.

2 Responses

  1. I enjoyed reading this review. We have very similar tastes in movies, but I disagree with you on this one. I simply love it.

    PS I have all of your Best Film lists filed away but am waiting for 2010 and 2011 in a format similar to the others. And will you be revising any lists. I once pointed out to you that CURSE OF THE DEMON and NAZARIN were on more than one list.

    Best wishes

    Richard Brennan

  2. Richard, are you talking about Extremely Loud? I guess we’ll have to disagree on that one.

    Thanks for the reminder on the Best List errata. I’ll address that sooner than later.

Leave a Reply

