Moonrise Prometheus (Weekly Links)

Fassbender and His Friends: Prometheus

Links to reviews I wrote this week for the Herald, and etc.

Prometheus. “Exerts a firm hold on the back of the neck.”

Moonrise Kingdom. “Abundance of feeling for childhood realities.”

Madagascar 3: Europe’s Most Wanted. “Wonderfully goofy.”

The Day He Arrives. “Loose ends extend in brain-teasing directions.”

On KUOW’s “Weekday,” I talk with Steve Scher about Prometheus and the idea of the prequel, plus some words of gratitude for Ray Bradbury, a bright guiding light of my childhood. The talk is archived here; the Horto-segment begins at the 20:30 mark.

At What a Feeling!, a Prometheus-inspired week of 1980s sci-fi reviews concludes with a piece on Stewart Raffill’s Ice Pirates.

This afternoon I’ll pop up briefly on KCPQ-13’s afternoon News at Four for some chatter about the weekend’s openings; probably closer to 5 p.m. than earlier in the hour.

Next Wednesday, June 13, I’ll deliver  “Alien Encounters: Sci-Fi Movies and the Cold War Culture of the 1950s,” a free talk in the Humanities Washington speakers series, at the Chehalis Library, in Chehalis, WA, at 6 p.m. Location details here.

And a week from today, June 15, join the founders of Framing Pictures for another in-depth conversation aimed at encouraging movie talk: at 5 p.m. at the Northwest Film Forum, film critics Richard T. Jameson, Kathleen Murphy, and I will discuss movies, including upcoming repertory events in Seattle. It’s free, and beer and wine is available for purchase.

5 Responses

  1. Just read your review of Prometheus. You sure seem to enjoy taking a jab at Blade Runner whenever the opportunity presents itself. I assume that’s because there is a lot of hyperbole from a lot of the people who praise the film, and a lot of mythmaking of Scott in the accounts of it’s troubled production / post-production. Why not? It’s always fun to rebel against popular opinion and conventional wisdom, if only because it gets a lot of people bent out of shape. I have a suspicion, though, that you haven’t seen the version that was released in 2007 (I may be wrong). It’s one of the few times in recent history in which a filmmaker went back to a much earlier work to make changes and “improvements” and actually succeeded. If you haven’t already, i urge to take a look at that version sometime. You might be surprised to find that there is more profound thought involved than you picked up on when you last saw it. Maybe not, though. As some politicians like to say, “Reasonable people can disagree on this issue.”

    • Bryan, it’s not so much that I enjoy making jabs at a well-liked movie, but that I want to make sure the conventional wisdom isn’t the only thing heard about it. I actually formed my original opinion of Blade Runner before any hyperbole could accrue around it, because I saw a preview screening before it opened in 1982, so I’m not nursing a backlash viewpoint or anything. I was disappointed then, and I’m still underwhelmed by it, having seen it probably three times since then, including the most recent Scott-approved cut. (I’ve read the book, too.) The movie’s importance and influence are undeniable, and I think it’s got some amazing things in it. Part of this is a general skepticism I have about Ridley Scott: having a great eye is not the same as being visionary. Although it’s certainly something. All of which possibly goes to my pleasant surprise at having enjoyed Prometheus as much as I did.

      • I read your reply, and then I reread my comment, and its tone was much more accusatory than I had intended, especially the first half. When I was writing it, I thought I was excluded from those who “get bent out of shape”, but apparently I am one of those people without realizing it, seeing attacks where there are none. I am now officially and internet comment poster. Maybe I should have just written, “YUO DONT KNOW NOTHING. YOU R ELETIST BUTTMUNCH. RIDLEY SCOTT OWNS YOU. BURN IN HELL HEATHEN SCUM!!!!!!!

      • Now THAT’S more like it!

      • Thanks, though, Robert, for taking the time to reply to my half-baked comment.

Leave a Reply

